Massachusetts Senate Ratings Page.

Click here to download GOAL's Candidate Questionnaire

GOAL encourages all candidates that are running for office to submit a candidate questionnaire.

Please note, candidates who receive a % grade are challengers, the grade is based on their answers on our candiate questionnaire. Incumbents with a legislative record receive letter grades.

Contested Races: Below is a listing of seats in contention where the challenging candidate has filed a GOAL candidate questionnaire. Please browse lower on this page to see GOAL ratings for incumbents.

Rating Name Party Incumbent
Berkshire, Hampshire, Franklin & Hampden
NR Adam G. Hinds D No
Bristol & Norfolk
A+ James Timilty D Yes
First Bristol & Plymouth
A+ Michael Rodrigues D Yes
Second Bristol & Plymouth
NR Mark Montigny D Yes
Cape & Islands
NR Julian Andre Cyr D Yes
First Essex
NR Kathleen O'Connor Ives D Yes
Second Essex
NR Joan Lovely D Yes
Third Essex
NR Joan Lovely D Yes
First Essex & Middlesex
A+ Bruce Tarr R Yes
2nd Essex & Middlesex
D Barbara L'Italien D Yes
NR James Welch D Yes
First Hampden & Hampshire
F Eric Lesser D Yes
Second Hampden & Hampshire
A+ Donald F. Humason, Jr. R Yes
Hampshire, Franklin & Worcester
F Stanley Rosenberg D Yes
First Middlesex
F Eileen Donoghue D Yes
Second Middlesex
F Patricia Jehlen D Yes
Third Middlesex
F Mike Barrett D Yes
Fourth Middlesex
NR Kenneth Donnelly D Yes
Fifth Middlesex
F Jason Lewis D Yes
First Middlesex & Norfolk
F Cynthia Stone Creem D Yes
Second Middlesex & Norfolk
F Karen Spilka D Yes
Middlesex & Suffolk
NR Sal DiDomenico D Yes
Middlesex & Worcester
F James Eldridge D Yes
Norfolk, Bristol & Middlesex
A Richard Ross R Yes
Norfolk, Bristol, & Plymouth
NR Walter Timilty (former 7th Norfolk state rep) D No
Norfolk & Plymouth
NR John Keenan D Yes
Norfolk & Suffolk
NR Michael Rush D Yes
Plymouth & Barnstable
A+ Vinny deMacedo R Yes
1st Plymouth & Bristol
A Marc Pacheco D Yes
Second Plymouth & Bristol
NR Michael Brady D Yes
Plymouth & Norfolk
A Patrick O'Connor R Yes
First Suffolk
F Linda Dorcena Forry D Yes
Second Suffolk
F Sonia Chang-Diaz D Yes
First Suffolk & Middlesex
NR Joseph Boncore D Yes
Second Suffolk & Middlesex
NR William Brownsberger D Yes
First Worcester
NR Harriette Chandler D Yes
Second Worcester
A Michael O. Moore D Yes
Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire, Middlesex
A Anne M. Gobi D Yes
Worcester & Middlesex
A+ Jennifer Flanagan D Yes
Worcester & Norfolk
A+ Ryan Fattman R Yes

Incumbent Ratings

Rating Name Legislation Supported (Anti 2A) Legislation Supported (Pro 2A)
F Barrett, Michael H.3476  
N/R Boncore, Joseph    
N/R Brady, Michael    
N/R Brownsberger, William    
N/R Chandler, Harriette    
F Chang-Diaz, Sonia S.1239  
F Creem, Cynthia S.1242, S.1246, S.1247  
A+ deMacedo, Viriato   S1269, S1299
N/R DiDomenico, Sal    
N/R Donnelly, Kenneth    
F Donoghue, Eileen S.1253  
F Eldridge, James S.1246  
A+ Fattman, Ryan   H2122, H2625, H2626
A+ Flanagan, Jennifer   H2122
F Forry, Linda H.3476  
A Gobi, Anne S.1253 H.1305, H.2092, H2120, H2122, H2155, H2175, H2191, H2625, H2626, S1198
A+ Humason, Donald   S428, S1266
F Jehlen, Patricia    
N/R Joyce, Brian    
N/R Keenan, John    
D L'Italien, Barbara H.3476  
F Lesser, Eric    
F Lewis, Jason H.3476  
N/R Lovely, Joan    
N/R McGee, Thomas    
N/R Montigny, Mark    
A Moore, Michael H.3476 H2625, H2626, S1198, S1287
A O'Connor, Patrick    
N/R O'Connor Ives, Kathleen    
A Pacheco, Marc   S415
A+ Rodrigues, Michael    
F Rosenberg, Stanley    
A Ross, Richard    
N/R Rush, Michael    
F Spilka, Karen    
A+ Tarr, Bruce S.1253 H2138, H2149, H2625, H2626, S428
A+ Timilty, James    
N/R Welch, James    
N/R Wolf, Daniel    



2016 - 2017 Ratings:

Additional Information:


*This page is made possible by the membership of GOAL and their generous donations. If you found this page helpful please Join - Support - Donate to GOAL.