GOAL

REPORTING LOSS, THEFT OR RECOVERY:

 

Massachusetts gun owners are required to report loss, theft or recovery of a gun to the state and local police department. To obtain an FA-10 form, call (617) 660-4780, check with your police department, or clck here for the online version.

 

Chapter 284 change: GOAL was succesful in adding language which prevents a licensing authority from finding a licensee "unstuitable" upon reporting a lost/stolen firearm. This exemption is only good once. If a licensee loses or has any additional firearms lost/stolen they can be found "unsuitable" by the licensing authority.

 

Upon renewal of LTC/FID a licensee must also fill out an affidavit confirming that he/she has not lost any firearms since the last renewal.

 

Also note new fees for failure to report lost/stolen firearm.

 

First offense:

  • Was $200 - $1000
  • Now $500 - $1000

Second offense:

  • Was $1000 - $5000
  • Now $2500 - $7500

Third offense:

  • $7500 - $10,000 and/or up to 1 - 5 years in prison.

 

*This page is made possible by the membership of GOAL and their generous donations. If you found this page helpful please Join - Support - Donate to GOAL.

 

GOAL News

 

Mass Gun Law Reform.com Home

Help us make Massachusetts a safer place.

Follow Us: twitter logo FB Logo GOAL News RSS Feed Youtube Friday News Join GOAL Direction to GOAL

GOAL is the Official State Association of the National Rifle Association

  

  All contents © 2014 Gun Owners' Action League 361 W. Main St./ PO Box 567  Northboro MA. 01532   Tel 508-393-5333  Fax 508-393-5222.